All Ireland SFC R1: Westmeath too strong for Waterford


All-Ireland SFC Round 1 Qualifier


By Conor McKenna at TEG Cusack Park

Westmeath defeated Waterford in their first game of the 2019 football qualifiers.

The midlanders' were dominant from start to finish, while Waterford failed to replicate their performance against Clare in the Munster Championship, as they were defensively solid on that occasion, while they were open at the back throughout this match.

Westmeath had not won a qualifier game since 2012, but they were never in danger of losing this and Jack Cooney will be pleased with this performance and his side bounced back superbly from their defeat to Laois.

Waterford opted to go with Michael Curry as an extra defender and were intent on flooding their defence whenever possible, however it did not work as they conceded 1-22 over the course of the game.

It was the home side who opened the scoring in the ninth minute courtesy of Ronan OToole, before Ger Egan doubled his side's advantage.

Scores from Joe Halligan and Egan followed as Westmeath held a 0-4 to 0-0 lead with 15 minutes played.

Westmeath registered the next two points with Egan and Tommy McDaniel finding the target before Tommy Prendergast finally opened his sides account with a point in the 24th minute.

Westmeath responded well scoring the last three points of the first half, as Westmeath held a 0-9 to 0-1 lead at the interval.

Waterford needed a strong start to the second half and it was forthcoming, as Benji Whelans side registered the first three scores of the half to reduce the deficit to five points.

All their good work was effectively cancelled out, however, as the home team responded with three points of their own to restore their eight point advantage.

Denis Corroon added a further score for Westmeath, as his side led by nine points heading into the final quarter and Waterford were very much up against it at this stage and a fisted score from Joe Halligan stretched the lead to 10.

The game was dead as a contest when Ronan OToole found the net for the games first goal, with his 55th minute effort beating the goalkeeper at the end of an excellent attacking move from Westmeath.

Scorers for Westmeath: Ger Egan 0-8 6fs, Ronan OToole 1-2 1 45, Joe Halligan 0-4, Kieran Martin 0-2, Tommy McDaniel 0-1, Denis Corroon 0-1, David Lynch 0-1, James Dolan 0-1, Noel OReilly 0-1, Ronan Wallace 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford: Tommy Prendergast 0-2, Conor Murray 0-2, Dessie Hutchinson 0-2, Donie Fitzgerald 0-1

WESTMEATH: Eoin Carberry; Frank Boyle, Kevin Maguire, B Sayeh; David Lynch, Ronan Wallace, Killian Daly; Denis Corroon, Kieran Martin; James Dolan, Ronan OToole, Callum McCormack; Tommy McDaniel, Joe Halligan, Ger Egan

Subs: Jack Smith for Frank Boyle 55, Noel Mulligan for Denis Corroon 57, Sean Pettit for Tommy McDaniel 61, Noel OReilly for Ger Egan 63, Conor Slevin for David Lynch 64, Sean Flanagan for Sean Pettit 69.

WATERFORD: Paudie Hunt; Sean ODonovan, Ray OCeallaigh, James McGrath; Brian Looby, Shane Ryan, Tadhg O hUallachain; Shane Ahearne, Tommy Prendergast; JJ Hutchinson, Dylan Guiry, Conor Murray; Dessie Hutchinson, Fearghal O Cuirrin, Michael Curry.

Subs: Darragh Corcoran for Ray OCeallaigh 24, Sean Whelan-Barrett for Dylan Guiry 45, Jack Mullaney for Sean ODonovan 50, Joe Allen for JJ Hutchinson 51, Jason Curry for Tommy Prendergast 64, Donie Fitzgerald for Fearghal O Cuirrin 67.

REFEREE: Jerome Henry Mayo.

Also in GAA

Noel McGrath voted Hurler of the Week

Noel McGrath has been voted Hurler of the Week.The Tipperary star earned 10,259 votes on the Official GAA Instagram page with Ronan Maher second and Barry Heffernan third.
GAANOW Rewind: Cork v Galway - 1998 All-Ireland U21 Hurling Final

GAANOW Rewind: Cork v Galway - 1998 All-Ireland U21 Hurling Final

Meath Retain Gerry Reilly Cup

Meath Retain Gerry Reilly Cup

Home / Meath Retain Gerry Reilly Cup August 19th, 2019Meath 2-11 Dublin 2-10Yesterday saw the Royal County claim the 2019 edition of the Gerry Reilly Cup. The Meath

2019 All-Ireland SHC Final - A different perspective

Hugs, tears, joy, despair Our fly on the wall video of the 2019 All-Ireland SHC Final captured the full gamut of emotions Watch it below.