BGE GAA Hurling All-Ireland U-20 Championship launched


The 2019 Bord Gis Energy GAA Hurling U-20 All-Ireland Championship was officially launched today, at the Bord Gis Energy Theatre in Dublins Grand Canal Square. This years competition marks the first campaign under the new U-20 grade, with Carlow and Antrim opening proceedings on May 25th in the first round of the Leinster Championship.

Entering its 11th year as title sponsor of the competition, Bord Gis Energy has shown its continued commitment to shining a light on the rising stars of the game by announcing an all new line-up of U-20 ambassadors for the forthcoming season.

Following in the footsteps of household names such as Joe Canning, Kyle Hayes and Seamus Callanan are:

Ronan Connolly Limerick

Paddy Cadell Tipperary

Darren Morrissey Galway

Adrian Mullen Kilkenny

Billy Power Waterford

Brian Turnbull Cork

Diarmuid Ryan Clare

Davy Keogh Dublin

Charlie McGuckin Wexford

Bord Gis Energy Retail Director, Colin Bebbington said: Were extremely pleased to welcome the eleventh year of our partnership with the GAA and our sponsorship of the Bord Gis Energy GAA Hurling U-20 All-Ireland Championship. Over the past decade, our partnership with the GAA has enabled us to make a positive difference in communities across the country and this will continue to be an extremely important part of what we do as an organisation as the competition enters a new era under a new grade.

Through the Bord Gis Energy Rewards Club, we endeavour to offer our customers unmissable GAA rewards throughout the season. This year we will continue our fan focus, giving customers the opportunity to present Man of the Match awards live on TG4, welcome the U-20 players to the pitch as match-day flag bearers, and attend special #HurlingToTheCore training camps which will be hosted by our 2019 ambassadors right across the country.

Id like to extend my thanks to our colleagues in the GAA for their collaboration in bringing these initiatives to life and wish each of our U-20 ambassadors the very best for the season ahead.

Uachtarn Chumann Lthchleas Gael, John Horan added: This grade of hurling has long been one of the jewels in our stable of competitions and the mid-week action in the weeks ahead is eagerly anticipated by hurling followers across the island.

I would like to acknowledge Bord Gis Energys support of hurling in general but for our U20 championship in particular. Their use of ambassadors in addition to the other innovations they bring to their promotion of the games, helps us bring the competition to as wide an audience as possible and I look forward to the matches in the weeks ahead.

Bord Gis Energy has been title sponsor of the Bord Gis Energy GAA Hurling All-Ireland U-20 U-21 Championship since 2008. 2019 also marks the third year of Bord Gis Energys sponsorship of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship, which will continue for a further three years to 2022. Bord Gis Energy is also title sponsor of the GAA Legends Tours of Croke Park.

Also in GAA

GAA Healthy Club Project- Applications Now Open!

The Healthy Club Project, delivered in partnership with Healthy Ireland and Irish Life, is the GAAs flagship health and wellbeing initiative. It seeks to transform clubs into hubs for health

Cork SHC Final: Imokilly prove too strong for Glen Rovers

Cork SHC Final IMOKILLY 2-17 GLEN ROVERS 1-16By Denis Hurley at Pairc Ui Rinn Imokilly made it three Cork SHC titles in succession as Glen Rovers were seen off in

Dublin SHC Final: Cuala show character

Dublin SHC Final CUALA 1-18 ST BRIGID'S 1-14By Paul Keane at Parnell Park Powerhouse Dublin outfit Cuala are back on the Leinster club SHC title trail after digging deep at

Louth SFC Final: Newtown Blues complete three in a row

Louth SFC Final NEWTOWN BLUES 2-9 NAOMH MAIRTIN 1-9By Dan Bannon at the Gaelic Grounds, Drogheda A whirlwind start from the Newtown Blues saw them claim three Louth senior titles

Offaly SHC Final: Rynagh's edge out Birr

Offaly SHC Final ST RYNAGHS 0-16 BIRR 1-12By Kevin Egan at Bord na Mna OConnor Park Three years after he scored a crucial goal in a St. Rynaghs county final

Derry SFC Final: Magherafelt triumph

Derry SFC Final O'DONAVAN ROSSA, MAGHERAFELT 0-12 WATTY GRAHAMS, GLEN 0-11By Paul McIntyre at Celtic Park Magherafelt captured their first Derry senior football championship title since 1978 following a one

Donegal SFC Final: Tight Donegal decider finishes level

Donegal SFC Final Gaoth Dobhair 0-8 Naomh Conaill 0-8By Chris McNulty in Ballybofey Gaoth Dobhair and Naomh Conaill have to do it all again after the Donegal SFC final ended

Monaghan SFC Final: McManus inspires Clontibret

Monaghan SFC Final CLONTIBRET 1-14 SCOTSTOWN 0-11By Colm Shalvey at St Tiernachs Park Clontibret became Monaghan SFC winners for the first time since 2014 when they stunned five-in-a-row chasers Scotstown