BGE Leinster U20 Final: Kilkenny claim silverware

Bord Gais Energy Leinster Under 20 Hurling Championship Final


By Ronan Fagan at Innovate Wexford Park

Evan Shefflin emerged as captain fantastic after his opportunistic first-half goal ultimately proved the difference for DJ Carey's charges against Wexford in Wednesday's Bord Gais Energy Leinster Under-20 hurling decider at Innovate Wexford Park.

There was little to choose between the neighbours throughout, and Wexford were unfortunate with a series of late raids, and they are left to face the Munster champions Cork or Tipperary in the All-Ireland semi-final, where Kilkenny will play the Munster runners-up.

The 6,612 attendance at Wexford Park were surprised when Kilkenny opted to rest senior star Adrian Mullen, with James Bergin stepping in for one of the main figures in Kilkenny's semi-final dismissal of Galway.

Excitement quickly built amid greasy conditions as the sides shared the first six points, before Kilkenny snatched their first taste of the lead courtesy of a Niall Brassil free after 16 minutes 0-4 to 0-3.

The black-and-amber then stung Wexford for the game-defining goal, with Shefflin left unmarked at the back post to sweep home a rebound from an outstanding save by 'keeper James Lawlor 1-4 to 0-3.

But Wexford remained resolute, and a couple of closing Sen O'Connor points had MJ Reck's crew firmly in the mix when trailing by just 0-8 to 1-7 at half-time.

Sean Ryan, Kilkenny, andt Cathal O'Connor, Wexford, during the Bord Gais Energy Leinster GAA Hurling Under 20 Championship Final.Sean Ryan, Kilkenny, andt Cathal O'Connor, Wexford, during the Bord Gais Energy Leinster GAA Hurling Under 20 Championship Final.

Wexford hopes increased as the home-side drew level on 0-12 to 1-9 after 38 minutes courtesy of Charlie McGuckin, Ross Banville 2 frees and Cian Fitzhenry - a nephew of former goalkeeper Damien.

Kilkenny threatened to seize the initiative though when defender David Blanchfield, Sen Ryan, Eoin Cody and Eoin O'Shea powered them clear by 1-13 to 0-12 midway through the second-half.

But determined responses from Ross Banville, Conor Scallan, Cian Fitzhenry and Chris Turner meant that Wexford were never without hope of completing a first Model County clean-sweep of Leinster hurling titles since 1970.

Kilkenny held out under unrelenting pressure in the closing stages including five minutes of added-time to deservedly celebrate a first Leinster title in the grade since 2017.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Niall Brassil 0-5 4fs, Evan Shefflin 1-2, Sen Ryan, Eoin Cody, David Blanchfield 0-2 each, James Brennan, Stephen Donnelly, Eoin O'Shea, Michael Carey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Wexford: Ross Banville 0-7 7fs, Sen O'Connor 0-3, Charlie McGuckin, Cian Fitzhenry, Chris Turner 1f 0-2 each, Jack Reck, Conor Scallan 0-1 each.

KILKENNY: Dean Mason; James Brennan, Conor Flynn, Mikey Butler; Conor Heary, Michael Carey, David Blanchfield; Eoin O'Shea, Evan Shefflin; Stephen Donnelly, Niall Brassil, Aaron Brennan; James Bergin, Sen Ryan, Eoin Cody.

Subs: Ciarn Brennan for Bergin 41; Jack Kelly for Donnelly 54; John Dowd for O'Shea 59; Jim Ryan for A Brennan 605.

WEXFORD: James Lawlor; Cathal O'Connor, Eoin Molloy, Eoin O'Leary; Niall Murphy, Mike Kelly, Conor Scallan; Charlie McGuckin, Ross Banville; Sen Keane-Carroll, Connall Clancy, Jack Reck; Sen O'Connor, Diarmuid Doyle, Eoin Murphy.

Subs: Cian Fitzhenry for Keane-Carroll 5; Oran Carthy for Doyle HT; Chris Turner for S O'Connor 54; Ben Maddock for Banville 58.

Referee: Mick Murtagh Westmeath.

Also in GAA

DCU defeat Carlow IT in Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup Final

Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup final DCU DOCHAS EIREANN 0-14 IT CARLOW 0-7By Paul Keane at DCU Sportsgrounds DCU are Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup champions for the fifth time in their

UCC and Mary I advance to Fitzgibbon Cup semi-finals

Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup Quarter-Finals UCC 1-20 UCD 2-12Mary Immaculate College 2-21 University of Limerick 1-21Champions UCC, the most prolific winners of the competition, advanced to the semi-finals of the
Top Oil Br Bosco Round of 16

Top Oil Br Bosco Round of 16

Home / Top Oil Br Bosco Round of 16 January 29th, 2020The line up for the Quarter Final stages of the Top Oil Br Bosco has been completed.Today the

The GAA and GDPR guidanceĀ 

The GAA is aware of the recent commentary relating to our position on GAA Clubs' use of direct messaging apps such as WhatsApp. Our position is outlined in our Social

National Community Engagement Day

The GAA is encouraging club members to attend on Friday, January 31st, their local meet and greet opportunity designed to engage communities with their local Garda and local community representatives.Details
A day with Hawkeye in Croke Park

A day with Hawkeye in Croke Park

Rafferty rise encouraging for Harte and Tyrone

By Michael Devlin Tyrone have had to endure a few setbacks over a tumultuous winter season.Firstly, accomplished coach Peter Donnelly vacated his backroom team role, as did Stephen ONeill.Then Connor

Brian Fenton voted Footballer of the Week

Brian Fenton has been voted Footballer of the Week The Dublin midfielder earned 6,335 votes on the Official GAA Instagram with Donegal's Michael Murphy second and Oughterard's Enda
Your Comment