Electric Ireland Minor Football Team of the Year announced

Electric Ireland, proud sponsors of the GAA Minor Championships, is pleased to announce the 2019 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards Football Team of the Year, made up of 15 of the seasons top players that made a lasting impression during the 2019 Minor Football season.

The 2019 season featured an incredibly high standard of play, showcasing the bright future of the GAA. Minor players across the country showed their resilience, commitment and dedication this season, proving once again that there is nothing minor about playing Minor.

This years Electric Ireland Minor Football Team of the Year features four standout players from All-Ireland champions Cork, four players from six-time winners and 2019 finalists, Galway, two players from Munster champions Kerry, two players from Connacht champions Mayo, and one player from each of Kildare, Monaghan and Tyrone. The team was selected by a panel of GAA experts, including former Dublin footballer, Toms Quinn and Donegals most decorated footballer, Karl Lacey, and was fed into in part by Electric Irelands Player of the Week initiative on Twitter. The panel will also select an overall Football Player of the Year whose name will be announced at the 2019 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards event.

2019 Electric Ireland Football Team of the Year

Karl Lacey, Electric Ireland Minor Star Awards Panel Member, commented: As a former County Minor, it is a massive honour for me to recognise the excellence of these young men. It really resonates with me, having put so much into my own Minor career, the importance of celebrating these players commitment throughout the season. Playing Minor is a key stepping stone in any players GAA career, and an age grade where important lessons and values are learned. It is only right that the achievements, commitment and dedication of these players is celebrated and what better way than an event especially for them and their families, the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards.

The Football and Hurling Teams and Players of the Year will be awarded at the third annual Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards, set to take place at Croke Park on Saturday, 28th of September, while the Hurling Team of the Year was unveiled on Tuesday 3rd of September. In line with Electric Irelands This is Major campaign, the Minor Star Awards create a major moment for Minor players, showcasing the outstanding achievements of individual performers throughout the Championship season. The awards recognise the effort of not only the Minor players, but those who support them day in and day out, from their coaches to their parents, teachers and clubs - all who have played a significant role in getting them to where they are today.

This year Electric Irelands #GAAThisIsMajor campaign, now in its sixth year has reflected on the positive impact that the Minor Championship has on players long after their days on the field as a Minor have ended, as seen in The Barbershop with Electric Ireland, a four-part video series featuring the 2019 Panel reflecting on their own careers at Minor.

Also in GAA

McEntee: 'Missed chances came back to haunt us'

By Michael Devlin Missed goal chances in the opening minutes were ultimately rued by Meath manager Andy McEntee in the wake of yesterdays Allianz Football League Division One defeat to

Joyce: 'They showed great heart and passion'

By Cian O'Connell Padraic Joyce was completely aware that Sunday's Allianz Football League win over Monaghan mattered for several reasons.With demanding away assignments against Kerry and Donegal looming, Joyce was

'Ireland Lights Up' walking initiative is back with a bang

The popular Ireland Lights Up walking initiative is back with a bang with over 380 participating clubs and over 20,000 walkers getting out each week during the initiative.Ireland Lights Up

Round-up: Allianz HL D2A, 2B, 3A, 3B

Allianz Hurling League Division 2A Antrim 0-20 Wicklow 0-11Offaly 0-26 Meath 1-21Allianz Hurling League Division 2B Kildare 2-26 London 0-20Derry 1-19 Down 0-19Allianz Hurling League Division 3A Armagh 2-17 Donegal

Round-up: Sunday's Allianz FL D3 and D4 action

Allianz Football League Division Three LONGFORD 0-16 LOUTH 1-10TIPPERARY 0-10 DOWN 0-10Allianz Football League Division Four ANTRIM 3-10 WEXFORD 0-13SLIGO 5-9 LONDON 0-11Owen McCabes late point scuppered Tipperarys hopes

Allianz FL D2: Goals crucial for Kildare

Allianz Football League Division Two KILDARE 2-12 FERMANAGH 0-14By Ger McNally at St Conleth's Park Kildare began life under Jack OConnor with a hard fought win over Fermanagh in St
Offalys Pat Teehan 35th Cathaoirleach Comhairle Laighean

Offalys Pat Teehan 35th Cathaoirleach Comhairle Laighean

Home / Offalys Pat Teehan 35th Cathaoirleach Comhairle Laighean January 26th, 2020Yesterday at Convention of Comhairle Laighean Offalys Pat Teehan was elected as Cathaoirleach.The Coolderry native becomes the

Allianz HL D1: Comfortable win for Clare

Allianz Hurling League Division 1 Group B CLARE 1-27 CARLOW 0-14By Seamus Hayes at Cusack Park Clare had their expected comfortable win over Carlow in this opening round tie played
Your Comment