Galway through to All-Ireland Junior Football Final


All-Ireland Junior Football semi-final

GALWAY 7-17 MEATH 5-22 aet

By Daragh Small at Dr. Hyde Park

Gary Kelly scored 2-7 as last years beaten All-Ireland finalists, Galway, reached another JFC decider with a 7-17 to 5-22 epic victory over Meath in one of the games of the year at Dr Hyde Park.

Matt Duggans men trailed by 3-9 to 2-5 at half-time in normal time. There were perfect conditions for football and Meath took full advantage in that first half.

The scores went back and forth but Galway were miraculously back in the game when Jonathan Ryan found the net. Meath looked set to hold on but Enda Tierney scored for Galway in the 66th minute.

Meath didnt trail until 22 seconds into extra-time and Colm Brennans goal was the difference in the end.

Meath scored the first six points, but only led by three points coming up to the end of the first quarter. When Meath corner-forward Oran Meehan scored in the fifth minute they were 0-6 to 0-0 in front.

But Galway grabbed a goal in the sixth minute, Kellys speculative ball was claimed by Colm Brennan, and he finished past Adam McDermott.

Kevin Ross two, Danny Quinn, Stephen Coogan, Morgan Callaghan and Meehan had all scored for Meath, but Galway were right in the game.

Coogan scored a 45 and Kelly cancelled that out. But Meath scored three goals between the 14th and 21st minutes to pull clear.

Jason Scully was influential in all three. He scored the first, after a one-two with Ross. Three minutes later he set up Sen Reilly and then Scully turned provider for Ross to blast past Cormac Haslam.

It was 3-7 to 1-2 with nine minutes of normal time remaining in the first half. Galway hung on in there again, and they scored 1-3 before the break.

Coogan scored another fine effort from a free, but Sen Denvir, Kelly and Thomas Gleeson provided the response.

On the half-hour mark Galway captain Michael Day passed to Brennan and he set up Padraic ODonnell, to side-foot a second Galway goal.

Galway had scored 2-5 in the first half, but they still trailed by seven at half-time after Coogan scored a second free.

Quinn pointed for Meath right after half-time but McDermott fumbled Kellys high ball, and that ended in the Meath net.

There were just five points separating the sides before Quinn set up Ross and he blasted low to bring his tally to 2-2 in the 34th minute. But there was no let up.

Kelly was inspirational and he kept them ticking and in the 44th minute he slotted a Galway penalty, after Conor Costello was fouled by Kieran Slavin.

The gap was down to 4-13 to 4-7, and Ryans long ball evaded the defence, and substitute goalkeeper Johnny Lynch for Galways fifth goal with 11 minutes of normal time left.

When Day scored in the 56th minute the gap was down to the minimum but Scully and Slavin looked to have sealed the win.

However, in the sixth minute of added-time Ryans delivery was tapped down by Day, and Tierney scored another goal.

It went to extra-time and Ryan scored two fabulous points within three minutes of the restart. Ross halved the deficit.

The 11th goal of the game arrived in the 65th minute when Meath full-back Michael Flood got forward to score. Galway went back up the other end and Brennan scored his second goal, Ryan and Ross traded points at the end of the half.

It was 7-14 to 5-20 starting the second half with Ryan, Conor Brady and Kelly on target for Galway. Barry OConnell and Reilly hit back.

Ryan got a black card for Galway and they finished with 14 men but held on at the death.

Scorers for Galway: Gary Kelly 2-7 1-0pen, 0-3f, Jonathan Ryan 1-5, Colm Brennan 2-0, Enda Tierney 1-1 0-1 45, Padraic ODonnell 1-0, Thomas Gleeson 0-1, Sen Denvir 0-1, Michael Day 0-1, Conor Brady 0-1.

Scorers for Meath: Kevin Ross 2-6 0-3f, Stephen Coogan 0-6 0-3f, 0-1 45, Sen Reilly 1-2, Jason Scully 1-1, Michael Flood 1-0, Danny Quinn 0-3, Oran Meehan 0-1, Morgan Callaghan 0-1, Kieran Slavin 0-1, Barry OConnell 0-1.

GALWAY: Cormac Haslam; Eddie OSullivan, Dara ORuairc, Thomas Rabbitte; Padraic ODonnell, Adrian Ward, Sen Currin; Alan Molloy, Conor Brady; Thomas Gleeson, Michael Day, Sen Denvir; Gary Kelly, Colm Brennan, Padraic oin Currin.Subs: Enda Tierney for Brady 16, McDara Geraghty for Ward 23, Jonathan Ryan for Currin 31, Conor Costello for Currin 35, Enda Concannon for Rabbitte 40, black card, Lorcan Molloy for Denvir 47, Denvir for ODonnell 65, Brady for Molloy 69, Aongus hIarnin for Gleeson 70.

Also in GAA

Noel McGrath voted Hurler of the Week

Noel McGrath has been voted Hurler of the Week.The Tipperary star earned 10,259 votes on the Official GAA Instagram page with Ronan Maher second and Barry Heffernan third.
GAANOW Rewind: Cork v Galway - 1998 All-Ireland U21 Hurling Final

GAANOW Rewind: Cork v Galway - 1998 All-Ireland U21 Hurling Final

Meath Retain Gerry Reilly Cup

Meath Retain Gerry Reilly Cup

Home / Meath Retain Gerry Reilly Cup August 19th, 2019Meath 2-11 Dublin 2-10Yesterday saw the Royal County claim the 2019 edition of the Gerry Reilly Cup. The Meath

2019 All-Ireland SHC Final - A different perspective

Hugs, tears, joy, despair Our fly on the wall video of the 2019 All-Ireland SHC Final captured the full gamut of emotions Watch it below.